Why I work for Brighton & Hove

24 09 2012

I have always loved Brighton, being raised in Eastbourne. At first I thought it was the diverse and vibrant music culture that was so appealing, but as time’s gone on I realised it is the atmosphere of tolerance and inclusion that makes Brighton & Hove such a fantastic place to be. I truly love this city and am proud & honoured to have been a candidate to represent the people on the council.

I believe we need to increase transparency and accountability on the council, and am strongly in favour of not only publically available but also publically accessible information- i.e. in formats that are useful and informative to the public. I am firmly localist and am happy to be supporting devolution of power to community groups as put forward in our manifesto.

I am very keen on promoting business development- Brighton & Hove has one of the country’s most qualified workforces, and it is on us to provide the environment that will both grow local business and encourage new ones so as to make the most of that workforce. Unemployment is a serious issue, particularly among young people, and I think we need a serious and realistic business agenda if we are to tackle it.

I believe in promoting public transport in the city (i.e. expansions of cycle lanes, more competition and incentives for buses), further incentivising & expanding our recycling programme and helping Brighton’s vibrant culture expand and improve. Our music & entertainment scene is a true asset to the city, as is the City’s unique culture of not only acceptance, but celebration of diversity. It was this culture that so drew me to live here, and I intend to work hard to see that it is valued and promoted.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

